Jul 14, 2022 | Featured Articles


The Cross Border Emergency Management Group has developed a comprehensive operational plan for 2022-2025 to enhance co-operation and resilience in emergency management and civil protection consistent with the principles underpinned in the north-south framework documents.


The main principles of the cross-border plan are contained within the Northern Ireland Civil Contingencies Framework, ‘Building Resilience Together’ and the Republic of Ireland’s Major Emergency Management Framework.

 During the launch of the group’s latest three-year operational plan, Joan McCaffrey, Regional Officer, Local Resilience, Northern Ireland, and Finian Joyce, Chief Fire Officer, Leitrim County Council outlined the group’s journey to date, highlighting the successes and the challenges encountered along the way.

They also focused on the continuity and commitment by the membership to sustain and grow the capacity and capability of the group. The plan was launched by Alison McCullagh, Chief Executive of Fermanagh and Omagh District Council and Paul Rock, Assistant Chief Fire Officer at the Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage at the Killyhevlin Hotel, Enniskillen in March to over 30 multi-agency partner organisations from both sides of the border.

The Cross Border Emergency Management Group (CBEMG) was established in 2014 to increase co-operation between all the statutory agencies involved in emergency management within the border counties of Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. The CBEMG carries out its mandate within the existing emergency management structures in each jurisdiction and reports to their respective sub-regional groups.


MEATH TO HOST CHIEF FIRE OFFICERS’ ASSOCIATION ANNUAL CONFERENCE https://emergency-services.ie/meath-to-host-chief-fire-officers-association-annual-conference/…
@CfoaIreland @meathcoco @GavinDuffy @MCCFireService #firefighter #CFOA2024 #firesafety

#IPERN wish to congratulate all of our amazing finalists in the Capt. Dara Fitzpatrick Award who awed all of us today with their inspirational achievements. Delighted to announce our 2024 Awardee is Pte. Nicole Carroll of the Irish Defence Forces. Comhghairdeas Nicole! #DaraAward

On the eve of the Capt. Dara Fitzpatrick Award 2024 we are delighted to introduce you once more to our wonderful #DaraAward Finalists! 🚑 🚒 🚔 🚤 🚁
All roads lead to @MedicineAtUL tomorrow for our Award Ceremony hosted by @CumminsNM @grainnemoshea #IPERN #EDI #FirstResponders

Load More